The Nobel Assembly 2017-05-18T20:07:44+00:00

The Nobel Assembly

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is awarded by the Nobel Assembly, which consists of 50 professors at Karolinska Institutet. It meets 5 times per year, to discuss nominations for the Prize, elect the Nobel Committee, and on the first Monday in October, to decide by vote who will receive the Nobel Prize. Assembly members have to be professors at Karolinska Institutet and remain on the Assembly as long as they are on its Faculty. When a seat is vacant, a new member is elected by the Assembly.