

PRESS RELEASE November 27, 2012

NEW NOBEL COMMITTEE FOR PHYSIOLOGY OR MEDICINE

The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet has appointed new members of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine. Professor Juleen R. Zierath was elected as Chairman of the Committee for 2013. She succeeds Professor Urban Lendahl, who concludes his 6 year term on the Nobel Committee.

Processor Thomas Perlmann (Molecular Development Biology) will be the vice chairman of the Nobel Committee. Other members include Professors Jan Andersson (Infectious Diseases), Rune Toftgård (Environmental Toxicology) and Anna Wedell (Medical Genetics). In addition, 10 ad hoc members are selected each year to serve on the Nobel Committee to provide expertise in a wide variety of research areas.

Professor Göran K. Hansson continues to serve as Secretary of the Nobel Committee and the Nobel Assembly, as well as Director of the Medical Nobel Institute.

Juleen R. Zierath was born in 1961 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States and holds both Swedish and American citizenship. She is a professor of Clinical Integrative Physiology at Karolinska Institutet since 2001. Her research is focused on metabolism and diabetes, and she works at the Departments of Molecular Medicine and Surgery, as well as Physiology and Pharmacology. Juleen R. Zierath is the first female Chairman of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine.

The Nobel Prize is the world's most prestigious award of its kind. Hundreds of nominations for the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine are received each year from researchers all over the world. The Nobel Committee investigates and evaluates all of candidates and presents its proposal for the award to the Nobel Assembly. The Nobel Assembly will make its decision to award the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine on October 7, 2013, and as usual, it will be announced immediately thereafter.

Press photo of Juleen R Zierath is attached.

For more information: www.nobelprizemedicine.org

Contact: Juleen R Zierath, tel. +46 8 524 87 581

Göran K Hansson, tel. +46 8 524 87 801